... 5 Pillars of Islam ...

There are 5 pillars in Islam. The 5 pillars of Islam are duties which are obligatory on all Muslims. These duties are Shahadah, Salaah, Zakaat, Saum and Hajj.

1. Shahadah

The first pillar of Islam is the Shahadah (declaration of faith). Shahadah is to believe that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad is his (final) messenger. This is the core principle of Islam. Believing in anything less or anything more than that is not Islam. Belief alone is worthless / meaningless unless it is accompanied by action.

2. Salaah

The 2nd pillar is Salaah. Salaah is prayers that are performed five times a day. Prayers are led by an Imam in the Mosque. Prayers are said at dawn, mid-day, late-afternoon, sunset and nightfall. Each salaah is performed facing towards the Kaba. Salaah is compulsory on all Muslims. Children should start praying 5 times daily at the age of 10 or 12.

3. Zakaat

The 3rd pillar is Zakaat. Zakaat is charity given to the poor and needy. Zakat means "purification." Each Muslim calculates his or her own zakah individually. The Prophet said, "Even meeting your brother with a cheerful face is an act of charity." The Prophet also said: "Charity is a necessity for every Muslim". Zakat is not just charity. It's a duty. It's worship. It's purification of your wealth.

4. Saum

The 4th pillar is Saum. Saum is fasting in the 9th month of the Islamic calendar. Muslims must abstain from food, drink, sex and any bad deeds from dawn to dusk during this month. It is an obligatory act for all adults and children from the age of 10. It helps develop self-control and helps us to overcome selfishness, greed and laziness. You open your fast with a date. The fast is meant to remember the needy and seek nearness to Allah. Ramadhan is not a month of feasting. Did you lose or gain weight during ramadhan? If you put on weight, you did not learn a lot - "develop self-control and overcome selfishness and greed".

5. Hajj

The 5th pillar is Hajj. Hajj is to visit the Kaba, in Mecca during the Islamic month of Zul – Hijjah. It is Sunnah for all Muslims who have the means to perform Hajj at least once in their lifetime. Everyone wears white clothes to show they are all equal.

© Copyright 2009-2010 Islam786.        Sponsored by VisitSouthall